CommonAccess Accessibility LinkVisit the CommonAccess compliant version of this website

The Clerk’s office must receive your option with payment, if applicable, within 30 calendar days of the date that the officer issued the citation. Once you have chosen an option you cannot change your mind and choose another option.
Option 2: Elect Basic Driver Improvement School

What are the benefits of electing the Basic Driver Improvement Course option?

If you elect the Basic Driver Improvement Course option, adjudication is withheld, the cost of the citation will be increased, and DHSMV will not assess points against your driving record.

Who is eligible to take a Basic Driver Improvement Course?

Anyone who does not hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) may elect to complete a Basic Driver Improvement Course approved by DHSMV.

This only applies to a case where points are assessed and does not require a court appearance.

Someone is eligible to elect to the Basic Driver Improvement option only once in a 12 month period and five times in a lifetime.

What do I need to do to attend and complete the Basic Driver Improvement Course ?

To elect this option fill out the Traffic Citation Option Form and pay the school election fee. You can elect the school option using Offical Payments.

Note: You must attend a Florida approved Driving School.

How much time do I have to complete a Basic Driver Improvement Course ?

Your Certificate of Completion must be received by the Clerk’s Office within 60 days from the date you elect the Basic Driver Improvement Course.

How can I find a school that offers the 4-hour Basic Driver Improvement Course?

To find a course, look in the telephone book Yellow Pages under Driving Instruction, or search the internet for a Florida approved driving school.

Will the Traffic School notify the Clerk’s Office that you have completed the class?

No. It is Your responsibility to mail or deliver your Certificate of Completion to the Clerks’ Office within 60 days to the Traffic Department.

What happens if I do not submit my Certificate of Completion by the due date?

The DHSMV will add the points to your driving record, begin the process of suspending your license, assess late fees and non-attendance penalties.

Email Privacy

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records request, do not send to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

Website Maintenance

Wednesday night is the regular weekly maintenance schedule for the servers. As a result there may be brief outages. We apologize for any inconvenience.

CA badge1


This website is maintained by the Collier County Clerk of the Circuit Court & Comptroller.
Copyright© 2013 - 2022 All Rights Reserved.
Collier County Clerk of the Circuit Court & Comptroller
3315 Tamiami Trail East, Ste. 102
Naples, FL 34112-5324